Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Advising

When it comes to putting together a plan to finish a degree, advising is critical. Faculty members in the college are among the best academic advisers on campus. In fact, they consistently win awards for the quality of advising they provide. Virginia Tech is a big university, but advisers make it seem like a small town where everyone knows everyone else.

Student advising is handled by Program Directors within the student's department. Departmental advisers are listed below. Prospective students who know which department they are interested in should contact that department's adviser directly.

Program Directors in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Agricultural Technology

Sam Doak
1060 Litton-Reaves Hall
(540) 231-2772
Fax: (540) 231-6741
sdoak@vt.edu,

Agricultural Sciences

Curt Friedel
268 Litton-Reaves Hall (0343)
(540) 231-8177
Fax: (540) 231-3824
cfriedel@vt.edu

Agricultural and Applied Economics

Kurt Stephenson
312 Hutcheson Hall (0401)
(540) 231-5381
Fax: (540) 231-7417
kurts@vt.edu

Animal and Poultry Sciences

Mike Denbow
3250 Litton-Reaves Hall (0306)
(540) 231-6843
Fax: (540) 231-3010
apsc@vt.edu

Biochemistry

David Bevan
133 Engel Hall (0308)
(540) 231-6315
Fax: (540) 231-9070
drbevan@vt.edu

Crop and Soil Sciences

Ben Tracy
335 Smyth Hall (0404)
(540) 231-8259
Fax: (540) 231-3431
bftracy@vt.edu

Dairy Science

Katharine Knowlton
2440 Litton-Reaves Hall (0315)
(540) 231-5287
Fax: (540) 231-5014
kknowlto@vt.edu

Environmental Sciences

Matthew Eick
236 Smyth Hall (0404)
(540) 231-8943
Fax: (540) 231-3431
eick@vt.edu

Food Science and Technology

Bill Eigel
115 FST Building (0418)
(540) 231-6877
Fax: (540) 231-9293
weigel@vt.edu

Horticulture

Alex Niemiera
401-A Saunders Hall (0327)
(540) 231-5451
Fax: (540) 231-3083
niemiera@vt.edu

Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise

Renee Selberg-Eaton
325 Wallace Annex (0430)
(540) 231-5987
Fax: (540) 231-3916
rselberg@vt.edu

Life Sciences, Undecided

Susan Sumner
1060 Litton-Reaves Hall (0343)
(540) 231-6503
Fax: (540) 231-6741
aglifesci@vt.edu


Contact

Susan Sumner
Associate Dean of Academic Programs
Office of Academic Programs
1060 Litton Reaves Hall (0334)
Blacksburg, VA 24061
(540) 231-6503
Fax: (540) 231-674 
calsap@vt.edu