Virginia Tech®home

Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station Director Search

VCE logo


A national search is being initiated for the position of Associate Dean for Research and Director of Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station. The new Associate Dean and Director will replace Dr. Saied Mostaghimi, who has announced his plans to retire from the position in April 2023.

Virginia Tech seeks an energetic leader, strategic thinker, relationship builder, and strong communicator who will strengthen the role of VAES and the college throughout the university and the communities it serves. The Director will continue to build strategic growth areas, identify new opportunities for growth, and advocate for VAES and the college and the important roles they play in the university’s mission. The ideal candidate will have a strong record of relevant scholarship success and the ability to lead complex organizations. The Associate Dean and Director will also be adept at being a champion externally to donors and alumni, as well as state, national, and international leaders.


Position posted

Applicants screened

Finalists interviewed

Learn more and apply

Search committee

The membership of a search committee tasked with overseeing the national search has been finalized. 

Susan Sumner (professor and associate dean, CALS; committee chair);

Dell Cotton (Executive Secretary, VA Peanut Growers Assoc.);

Jonathan Auguste (assistant professor, Entomology);

Elinor Benami (assistant professor; Agricultural and Applied Economics);

Matthew Chappell (professor and director of the Tidewater AREC);

Zach Easton (professor, Biological Systems Engineering);

Keith Goyne (professor and associate dean, College of Natural Resources and Environment);

Rich Helm (professor, Biochemistry);

Tim Jarome (associate professor, Animal Sciences);

Kevin Lahmers (clinical associate professor, VA MD College of Veterinary Medicine);

David McCall (assistant professor, School of Plant and Environmental Sciences);

John McDowell (professor, School of Plant and Environmental Sciences);

Kim Niewolny (associate professor, Agricultural, Leadership, and Community Education);

Mizuho Nita (associate professor, AHS Jr. AREC);

Gabe Pent (superintendent, Shenandoah Valley AREC);

Laura Rasnick (administrative research programs assistant, VA Agricultural Experiment Station);

Amanda Stewart (associate professor, Food Science and Technology);

Stella Volpe (professor and department head, Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise).

Explore VAES

Loading player for
Loading player for
Loading player for
Loading player for

VAES in the news


This is who we are

Loading player for

Do you know someone who should be considered for the next Director of the Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station?

What are the leadership attributes you want the next Director of the Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station to possess?