Virginia Tech®home

Dean's Advisory Council

The purpose of the Council shall be to advise the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences on all aspects of teaching, research, and extension programs and to advance and promote the programs of the College. This includes matters pertaining to review current and future plans of the college; provide information and recommendations concerning these plans; assist in the dissemination of information with constituent groups; public relations and image/reputation; and fundraising and engagement efforts.


Dean's Advisory Council By-Laws (PDF | 26KB)


Executive Committee Members

Robert Mills, Jr., chair
Katie Frazier, vice chair
Robert Reinhard, academic partners committee chair
Steven Critchfield, advancement partners committee chair
Hobey Bauhan, industry partners committee chair
Alan Grant, dean
Vernon Meacham, assistant dean of advancement
Jamie Lucero, director of alumni relations


Academic Partners Committee

Address opportunities related to the student experience

Chair: Robert Reinhard
Rose Mary Cornett, '95, '13, Dairy Inspector, Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Bernie Engel, Professor and Associate Dean of Agriculture Research and Graduate Education, Purdue University
Robert Reinhard, '94, '95, Vice President Food Safety and Quality, Tyson Foods
John Roswell, '87, '91, Partner, Sendero Partners
Winston Samuels, '81, '83, Founder, President, and CEO, Maxx Performance
Lauren Wind, Graduate Student Representative
Hunter Hilbert, Undergraduate Student Representative
Baker White, Undergraduate Student Representative


Advancement Partners Committee

Address opportunities related to the capital campaign

Chair: Steven Critchfield
Brad Copenhaver, '12, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry, Commonwealth of Virginia
Steven Critchfield, '80, CEO/President, MOVA Technologies
Jeffrey Francis, '78, Solution Architect, Utegration LLC
William Hayter, '76, President, First Bank and Trust Company
Mike Hildebrand, '74, President-Owner, James River Nurseries Inc.
Rachel Mawn, Undergraduate Student Representative
Daniel Riddick, '06, Director of Marketing and Communications, Ukrop's Homestyle Foods


Industry Partners Committee

Address opportunities related to basic and applied research and extension

Chair: Hobey Bauhan
Richard Bagley, Jr., '79, Senior Vice President, Branch Manager, Wells Fargo Advisors
Hobey Bauhan, President, Virginia Poultry Federation
Corey Berends, '96, SVP Research and Development, Conagra Brands
John Epling, Jr., Medical Director of Research, Medical Director of Employee Health and Wellness, Carilion Clinic
Lewis Everett, '00, Owner, Pine Circle Farms LLC
Katie Frazier, '04, Chief Marketing and External Affairs Officer, Farm Credit of the Virginias
Steve Grigg, '77, President, Grigg Design, Inc.
Robert Mills Jr., '94, President, Briar View Farms, Inc.
Martha Moore, '91, Vice President Governmental Relations, Virginia Farm Bureau Federation
Whit Morris, '91, '93, Principal Scientist II, Agronomist, Altria Client Services
Ben Rowe, National Affairs Coordinator, Virginia Farm Bureau
Kyle Shreve, Executive Director, Virginia Agribusiness Council
Steve Sturgis, '82, Owner, Tri-S Farms



Alan Grant, Dean, VT CALS
Zeke Barlow, '18, Director of Communications and Marketing, VT CALS
Ed Jones, '79, '83, Associate Dean and Director, Virginia Cooperative Extension, VT CALS
Jamie Lucero, Director of Alumni Relations, VT CALS
Ray McKinnie, Dean of Agriculture, College of Agriculture, Virginia State University
Vernon Meacham, '83, '87, Assistant Dean, Advancement, VT CALS
Saied Mostaghimi, Associate Dean and Director, Virginia Agricultural Experiment Station, VT CALS
Susan Sumner, Associate Dean and Director, Academic Programs, VT CALS
Tom Thompson, Associate Dean and Director, CALS Global
Chevon Thorpe, '12, Director of Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity, VT CALS